Absolute Zero

September 3, 2006

ToP Translation News

Filed under: Blog News — throughhim413 @ 4:32 pm

Okay, I’ve actually started working on the ToP Translation again. But I haven’t posted anything new. So when you look at the progress, you’ll just have to believe me. By the way, I just noticed this… I use Mozilla Firefox, which always used to prompt me when I tried to open the .txt files off of my blog. However, now, it opens the files in the browser, but it spaces things out in a very strange manner… So, if you’re just looking at the new Completion.txt to check on the progress of the translation, it should work fine. However, for the longer Chapter files, I don’t know what’s going on. So I would advise that you download them to your computer and use a program like Notepad to view them. And you should not use Internet Explorer to view the files either. I use txt files because they use a fixed-width font. When IE opens a txt file, it displays it in variable-width, which makes a mess out of it. So yeah, don’t do IE. Like YTMND, I’m pretty sure that IE causes cancer.

EDIT: I figured out what was wrong with the files. Dang Unicode vs. ANSI. Oh well, it’s fixed now. But IE still causes cancer.

So news… Today I worked on and completed two chapters, To Save the World and Ary, City of Darkness. These are the two final chapters of the game, but since I’m just doing things in whatever order I feel like, this means that the overall translation is still probably less then 30% complete. But I’m getting a clearer picture of what I want from this translation. On top of that, I’ve realized how much faster (and probably more accurate) I’ve gotten at translating this since I started. So I’m very pleased with the progress so far. I think that next I’ll probably attack The City of Euclid and The Underground Crypt from The Present. That way I’ll have wrapped up that portion of the game (at least until I move on to stage two of the translation).

In other news, I’ve now got MGS, MGS: The Twin Snakes, and MGS2: Sons of Liberty with me. So I’ll be playing those soon. Also, I need to finish watching Card Captor Sakura and Hunter x Hunter so I can watch some of those shows that I’ve been inadvertently putting off… Other than that, I’m slowly reading Hajime no Ippo, which is always a trip. So times are good.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

