Absolute Zero

April 15, 2007

Information Update

Filed under: Blog News — throughhim413 @ 5:43 pm

I forgot to comment on the most important thing, overall progress, so this is being edited in.  In the overall scheme of things, I need to do one more run into the Dwarven Ruins in order to make sure I have the Gremlin Lair and Pluto stuff translated correctly.  I also need to beat up Odin, which doesn’t take long.  And finally, I have already entered Dhaos’ Castle, so all I need to do is check all of the stuff in there and the ending.  On the home stretch here, look forward to a complete and edited translation coming soon!

Over on GameFAQs, I got a request to add the side-story where the party meets with the Future Morrison family member. That was easy enough, and so it’s been done. I’m still taking requests on additions to the final version, so if you have any, please leave me a comment.

That brings me to the post below this one, where Mario Kirby requested that I add all of the skits to the final version. Ah yes, the skits. I believe I mentioned it in one of my updates along the way, so I don’t expect that everyone should have seen it. Basically, here’s the deal. I want to add the skits. If I had my way, I would put them all in there, but for now I’m not planning on including the skits in the final version. The few that are included were just some that I did as sort of tests to see how manageable it would be. And well, the conclusion was that it’s not very manageable. The fact of the matter is, I’m not totally fluent in Japanese. The benefit translating text is that I can spend as much time as I want on a single line of text, grab a dictionary and look up words if I don’t know them off-hand, and reword my translation as much as I want before moving on to the next line. With skits, if I miss a single line, I have to reload the game and listen again. And I have to do that for every single line. It’s a very time consuming process. It would be another thing if I had access to the audio files for the skits. Then it would be a simple matter of listening, pausing, typing out the translation, and then double-checking everything when it was all done. But I don’t have access to that kind of thing. I looked into using the Sound Test mode to try and play them back, but I know the PSP sound test doesn’t let you access the skits in sound test. The PSX version might, but unfortunately, it seems that I left my copy at home when I came back to school, so if anyone can tell me if you can or cannot listen to the skits in the PSX version Sound Test.

So yeah, I apologize for that, but the Skits won’t be translated any time soon unless I can come up with any kind of solution. Even getting to the skits in the game would require replaying the whole game over again, and despite the many save points I have scattered throughout the game, even they wouldn’t be enough. If anyone has a solution to this, I’m all ears. I don’t mind putting in the extra work, but doing things the way I had been doing them felt like too much work and almost no reward.

Blog at WordPress.com.

